Dunja Lavrova

Click here to edit subtitle

Ensemble Metamusika Projects

N.B. If you are interested in booking Ensemble Metamusika to perform either of the programmes listed below, or would like to propose another programme, please get in touch via the contact form at the bottom of this page.

"Russian Revolution": Ensemble Metamusika performs Russian and Soviet String Quartets:


1). S. Rachmaninoff: "Romance" from unfinished String Quartet N1

2). G. Catoire: String Quartet in F-sharp


3). M. Weinberg: String Quartet N8 in C

4). D. Shostakovich: String Quartet N8 in C

For this project, Dunja is joined by three string players from the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra:

Laura Kernohan (violin),                        Liam Buckley (viola)                   and Hannah Innes (cello).

"Russian Revolution" String Quartets upcoming concerts:

19th of March 2017 at St John's Church Broadstone as part of Dorset Kaleidoscope Concerts, 6:30pm start. Click here to find out more: http://www.dunjalavrova.com/dorset-kaleidoscope-concerts

- 2nd of April 2017 at Conway Hall, London, 6:30pm start. Click here to find out more: https://www.classicalevents.co.uk/concerts/conway-hall-camden/02-april-2017/18-30/ensemble-metamusika

Ensemble Metamusika in performance of Horn Trios.


Lennox Berkeley: Horn Trio, Op. 44 (1944)


J.Brahms: Horn Trio, Op.40

In video:

Violin: Dunja Lavrova

Horn: Nicolas Fleury

Piano: Konstantin Lapshin

"Russian Giants": Ensemble Metamusika in performance of Rachmaninoff and Tchaikovsky Piano Trios

Photography by Hannah Strijbos


S. Rachmaninoff: Trio élégiaque in D minor, Op. 9.


P.I. Tchaikovsky: Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50

Pictured on the left:
Violin: Dunja Lavrova
Cello: James Barralet
Piano: Konstantin Lapshin

Tchaikovsky completed his Piano Trio in 1882, in memory of his close friend and mentor, Nikolai Rubinstein who passed away in 1881. The trio is structurally unusual in the way that it consists of only two movements. The sonorous and tragically lyrical first movement is a more traditional type, true to Romantic Era – and despite composer's uncertainty of succeeding in writing music for this combination of instruments, he managed to recreate in it the unique sound world of his other works. The second movement is a Theme proceeded by 11 virtuosic Variations, where all the musicians (above all, pianist) are challenged to conquer countless technical difficulties, arriving to an explosive Finale variation and the Coda, in which the listener once again reminded of the anguishing theme from the first movement.

Young Rachmaninoff was greatly inspired by Tchaikovsky. When Tchaikovsky died in 1893, Rachmaninoff wrote his second piano trio in memory of him. Trio Elegiaque follows a similar structure to Tchaikovsky's trio in A minor: tragic, dark and moody first movement; the second movement, marked “Quasi Varizione” (“almost variations”)- consisting of equally virtuosic variations as in Tchaikovsky's case; and, unlike the first work in the programme, there is a short third movement which serves as the final word and quotes the haunting main subject of the 1st movement.

What is evident, however, is although there are certainly some similarities between these two works, they are also completely unique in their own right- from the use of instruments (and distribution of the material between them) to the use of harmony, colours and dramatic language. We are met face-to-face with the most intense and intimate emotions by two completely different individuals (not least with the age difference between them at the time of composition- Tchaikovsky was 40 and Rachmaninoff was 20 when they each completed their piano trios).

And we witness the evolution of the Romantic Era in Russia.

Programme Notes by Dunja Lavrova
Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.